8/26/2014

I Don't Know What To Read Next... OH BUT I DO! (Day 2 of the PMS Rant)

Just in case you were wondering:

  1. Day 1 is here (*chants* CLICK IT! CLICK IT! CLICK IT!)
  2. NO I do not PMS for weeks. I had trouble getting my thoughts out immediately after day 1 so I figured I'd post it next month if it still applies and viola! It still does! NO SURPRISE THERE!
So my dilemma this time is this: I have a hard time deciding on my next read when my brain is being extra-fickle minded. Hormones ruin everything, dude. I'm serious. Bookworms have a hard enough time picking out their next read. It's even more difficult when you just finished an extremely good book. Am I right? *nudge nudge*

But when it's that time of the month, I can go from happy to sad in a snap.

Gee, Sab, that must suck.

It does, teeny tiny voice in my head asking me questions. (ha-ha, maybe I'm "just" going out of my mind and it's not the PMS-ing that's screwing me up) HOW ON EARTH AM I GOING TO CHOOSE WHICH BOOK TO READ NEXT? Just this weekend, I sat on my bed and stared at my shelf for a good 20 minutes or so. I pulled (and eventually put back) the following books, in this order:
  • Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas (but no, too intense. I might not be ready yet.)
  • Where She Went by Gayle Forman (they say it's better than If I Stay... but com'on. Another contemporary? Are we on a contemporary binge? And what if this is a bit sad? CAN YOU REALLY HANDLE FEELINGS RIGHT NOW???)
  • Reboot by Amy Tintera (Dianne would be so proud of me! ...hold on. Text's too small. Nope.)
  • Let The Sky Fall by Shannon Messnger (it's been on your shelf for more than a year. It's about time, I say)
And so I decided on the last book. I got my bookmark ready, put it on the first page, took my phone out so I can mark the book as 'currently reading' on Goodreads. BUT THEN I saw a birthday greeting for John Green and the 20-minute inner monologue was forgotten. I returned Let The Sky Fall to my shelf and got Paper Towns by John Green.

(I'm almost done, by the way, and loving it. Thank you, John Green's birthday)

Trust me, I'm usually more decisive with books when my I'm not PMS-ing. Buuuuut at least I'm back to normal now. I think.

PERFECTION.

5 comments:

  1. Paper Towns! Always a beautiful choice! *thumbs up*

    ReplyDelete
  2. That was an entertaining post :) At least you are happy with the book you finally chose ;)

    ReplyDelete
  3. Love this post, it had me lol'ing. I must have bookish-PMS all the time then because I'm always indecisive about my next read. In fact I've started a poll on my TTT posts so readers can pick for me, it's working well so far! Go vote to help me for the next one - http://confessionsofabookgeek.wordpress.com/2014/08/26/top-ten-tuesday-books-i-cant-wait-to-read-but-dont-own-yet/

    :D Also, loving the new blog design (it is new, right? I'm not going crazy?!)

    R x

    ReplyDelete
  4. That GIF summed up your post perfectly. :)

    I hate when I can't decide which book to read... but PMS? Ugh! That's double sad. But I'm glad you've picked now. :)

    - Joy @ The Bookshelf Intruder

    ReplyDelete