9/11/2016

Event Alert | HAPPENING THIS WEEK: #MorganMatsoninPH


What: Morgan Matson Book Siging Tour

When: September 16, 2016
Where: The Gallery, Ayala Centre Cebu

When: September 17, 2016
Where: National Book Store, Glorietta 1

When: September 18, 2016
Where: Manila International Book Fair, National Book Store booth, SMX Convention Center, SM Mall of Asia

Join bestselling contemporary writer Morgan Matson, author of ‘Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour’ and ’Since You’ve been Gone’, for book signing events on September 16, 2016 at 4 p.m. in The Gallery, Ayala Center Cebu, on September 17, 2016 at 2 p.m. in National Book Store, Glorietta 1, and on September 18, 2016 at 2 p.m. in the National Book Store booth at the Manila International Book Fair. Registration starts at 10 a.m. for all events. Only books purchased from National Book Store, National Book Store Express, and Powerbooks will be accommodated. 

The events are made possible in partnership with Raffles Makati and Ayala Center Cebu. Visit nationalbookstore.com/booksignings for the complete signing mechanics. 

Tag #MorganMatsoninPH to join the discussion. 

9/04/2016

KAVINSKYYYY! My Thoughts on To All The Boys I've Loved Before by Jenny Han

Man that's a long title. Heh.

Hello, everyone! It's wine night and I am BLOGGING. I'm telling you, this is a solid get-back-to-blogging plan. A little bit (LOL) of wine goes a long way!

*awkward pause*

Anyway. Tonight I'm sharing my thoughts on a sorta oldie by goodie: To All The Boys I've Loved Before by Jenny Han. I was only supposed to review the second book tonight but when I searched for my review of the first book I discovered that I have no such post! How on earth have I not reviewed that yet?! Shocking, I tell ya. I raved on and on on Twitter and Facebook but no review. I am a disgrace.

No worries though because HERE IT IS!

To All The Boys I've Loved Before. (1 point for the title, amirite?) 

So. I'm not gonna lie. The only reason why I fell madly in love with the book is Peter Kavinsky a.k.a. your dreams come true. Sort of. He's a fictional character but let's say Jenny Han heard our prayers and created him for all of us. Now, he's not perfect but he added that oompf to a story that badly needed it. 

If you're a first time Jenny Han reader, it could take a bit of getting used to. When I read her Summer trilogy, I found that her writing's choppy but you can get the hang of it. I can't guarantee you'll enjoy the story but at least you can get past the writing style. This is the same case when I started To All The Boys. I was starting to give up on the book because I felt that sentences ended abruptly and scenes were not fluid enough. It also didn't help that Lara Jean is so difficult to like.

Yeah.... about that.

She's supposedly a 16 year old but her behavior made her sound waaaay younger. It's so hard reading a book whose narrator is naive and whiny. A lot of her problems could've been solved if she woman-ed up a bit, you know? I know that once upon a time we all went through that as teenagers. But I just can't read chapter after chapter of barely any growth from a protagonist who could seriously use it. You have to show readers that the narrator is improving, otherwise what's the point? Lara Jean almost made me want to DNF the book. However! I powered through. And it's a good thing I did because man oh man, ALL THE FEELS.

8/28/2016

So Apparently I'm 16 Books Behind (But Thank Heavens for Wine)


Well hellooooo there, human! Guess who's back?

Not me. I don't want this momentary break from my break to get jinxed so let's not call this anything. Think of it as me dusting off that old guitar I've had for four years in the hopes of learning to play once again. My point is: let's not get too optimistic. But... I MISSED YOU! Yes, you, human and blog.

Something magical has happened the past few weeks. It's nothing big or buzz worthy. It's just amazing given the circumstances. And that is....

I'M READING AGAIN! (drats! Now that I mentioned it, I'm probably messing this up. Nooooo)
There were a few months where I struggled to read. I would go through my usual habit of starting books really excited and losing interest quickly. And it only got worse from there! Some weeks I wouldn't even crack open a single book. There were days where I ignored my shelves completely. SO DRAMATIC, I KNOW! But for a bookworm who was able to finish a hundred books in a year (a.k.a. the good ol' times), this is DEPRESSING.

3/12/2016

TOMORROW: #SarahJMaasinPH


I'll be honest: I'm both excited and sad about tomorrow. Excited because obviously- I'll get to meet Sarah J Maas (!!!) but at the same time, I'm sorta bummed that I'll only get ACOTAR signed. My ToG books aren't from NBS so obviously, I won't be bringing them along. But it's okay! Just getting one book signed is enough because IT'S SARAH'S SIGNATURE!!! :D :D :D

Who's going?! :D (heehee am I being too smiley? Heehee)

Main deets:

What: Sarah J. Maas Book Signing Event
When: March 13, 2016, 2 p.m.
Where: National Book Store, Glorietta 1
Registration starts at 10 a.m.

Join New York Times and USA Today bestselling ‘Throne of Glass’ series author Sarah J. Maas for a book signing event on March 13, 2016 at 2 p.m. in National Book Store, Glorietta 1. Registration starts at 10 a.m. Only books purchased from National Book Store, National Book Store Express, and Powerbooks will be accommodated. The event is made possible in partnership with Raffles Makati. Follow National Book Store on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram (@nbsalert) for more details. Tag #SarahJMaasinPH to join the discussion.

ABOUT SARAH J. MAAS
Sarah J. Maas is the author of the New York Times, USA Today, and internationally bestselling Throne of Glass series–Throne of Glass, Crown of Midnight, Heir of Fire, Queen of Shadows, and the series’ prequel, The Assassin’s Blade–as well as the New York Times and USA Today bestselling A Court of Thorns and Roses. She wrote the first incarnation of the Throne of Glass series when she was just sixteen, and it has now sold in twenty-three languages. A Court of Mist and Fury, the second book in the A Court of Thorns and Roses series, will release on May 3rd, 2016.

A New York native, Sarah currently lives in Pennsylvania with her husband and dog. She graduated Magna Cum Laude from Hamilton College in 2008 with a degree in Creative Writing and a minor in Religious Studies. 

ABOUT THRONE OF GLASS
The award-winning first installment of the New York Times bestselling series…

Meet Celaena Sardothien. Beautiful. Deadly. Destined for greatness.

In a land without magic, where the king rules with an iron hand, Celaena, an assassin, is summoned to the castle. She comes not to kill the king, but to win her freedom. If she defeats twenty-three killers, thieves, and warriors in a competition, she is released from prison to serve as the king’s champion. 

The Crown Prince will provoke her. The Captain of the Guard will protect her. But something evil dwells in the castle of glass—and it’s there to kill. When her competitors start dying one by one, Celaena’s fight for freedom becomes a fight for survival, and a desperate quest to root out the evil before it destroys her world.

ABOUT A COURT OF THORNS AND ROSES
The New York Times bestselling first book in a new fantasy series from Sarah J. Maas…

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow over the faerie lands is growing, and Feyre must find a way to stop it…or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

Perfect for fans of Kristen Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down!

‘A Court of Mist and Fury’, the second book in the series, hits shelves in May.

Book Signing Mechanics
1. Registration will start at 10:00 a.m. First come, first served. 

2. The book signing will be limited to 350 signing slots.

3. Each participant is allowed to have a maximum of three (3) books to be signed (1 personalized and 2 with signatures only). The books must be presented upon registration. Only copies of Sarah J. Maas books bought at any National Book Store, NBS Express, and Powerbooks branches will be allowed. The book must have its official receipt or price tag.

4. A participant can register only once. Each participant will be given the following:
  • Numbered Signing Pass
  • Stamp mark on the hand to indicate your registration
5. Posted photos will be allowed. However, we strictly allow one photo per person only. There will be an official photographer from NBS who will take your photo with the author. 

post signature